On the go breakfast bars…banana bliss!

I’m perpetually running late and since I always try to follow my Eat Clean Rules, it’s hard to find a GF, dairy-free, protein-rich option when I’m dashing out the door. So, I want to share one of my most favorite on-the-go breakfast recipes…

Banana Oatmeal Breakfast Bars

2 C oatmeal  (I’ve used both old-fashioned and quick oats…different consistency, but essentially still works the same. You can use any dried fruit, but make sure you buy no sugar added if you’re really cutting every bit of sugar.)

1 scoop protein powder (I use NOW sports vegan pea protein since there are no additives, but any should work)

2 tbsp milled flaxseed

2 tsp cinnamon

1 C dried fruit

1 large very ripe banana (or two small)

1 egg

Preheat oven to 350F. Grease 9×9 baking dish or pan with olive oil spray (canola oil spray has been said to be an inflammatory so steer clear of that). Mix dry, except fruit, together. Mash banana and then beat egg into the mixture until fluffy. Add wet to dry and stir until combined. Fold in dried fruit. Press into bottom on pan…and I mean press! The more you press the better your bars will turn out. Bake for 10 min. Cool and then cut into 9 equals pieces. Each bar is about 130 calories, 6g protein, 3g fiber. They will keep for about two weeks, but longer than that and I’d be wary. Protein powders tend to make things go rancid quickly. I don’t think they’ll stick around your pantry too long anyway.

P.S. I tried this recipe using 1 small banana and 1/2C pumpkin puree now that it’s fall…YUM!

3 thoughts on “On the go breakfast bars…banana bliss!

  1. Pingback: A confession… | Spoonful of Sara

  2. Pingback: #KitchenLoveAffair (AKA creating Cannellini Ranch Dressing) & #plankadayinMay Challenge | Spoonful of Sara

  3. Pingback: Mountain Monday…BYTOM | Spoonful of Sara

Leave a Reply

